What are you doin New Years, New Years Eve…

The sights and sounds around me were deafening, almost numbing, there were strangers pressed against me from all sides. I was disoriented, overwhelmed, and completely in love. To be fair, I was hopelessly lost. I knew Kev was around here somewhere, this was the pen we were waiting in. I had to run to the restroom and when I got back Kev was nowhere to be seen. This was the right pen, wasn’t it? Everything was so big, and loud, and confusing. I was a million miles away from home, but it was where I wanted to be. I had dreamed my whole life of being in times square on New Years Eve. This trip with Kev was months of saving, planning, and begging. Kev was my best friend in the whole world, but he loved home and would rather be there popping cheap fireworks and sitting around a bonfire drinking a beer. He was a country boy through and through, and to be honest it’s one of the things I loved the most about him. That and his willingness to abandon all that for one year for my happiness. I was finally going to get to see the ball drop up close and personal! Now where on earth had Kev gone? After what felt like a century I finally found him, pressed up against the edge of the pen looking uncomfortable.

“Hey you! I thought I lost you there for a minute!”

He turned to me and a smile as big as Texas flashed in my direction. “I found us a better spot, much closer view! Whadaya think?”

“It’s perfect!” and it was.

We spent that last hour dancing, talking, practicing taking “selfies” and hanging out. I bought him a beer from a roving cart, and offered it to him as a little gift from home. He smiled and thanked me. The sights and sounds of that hour were wonderful. The music wasn’t what I normally listened to, but it had a good beat. The people were amazing! There were so many different outfits, heights, groups. There were lovers, gaggles of giggling girl friends, groups of professionals still in their suits. There were older couples, and young families. All walks of life were gathered here on this special night, in this special place, to bring in a new year. It was pure magic.

Before I knew it the countdown began.

10

9

8

I chanted along with the crowd…

7

6

I turned to look at my best friend, he was chanting along too, looking up at the ball making its descent.

5

4

3

2

This moment was perfect!

1

HAPPY NEW YEAR! The entire world shouted together as one. I shouted so loudly I knew I would be able to hear myself when I played the event back on my DVR. I looked around at all the couples sharing a New Years kiss, it was a great moment! I felt myself leave the ground as Kev picked me up and twirled me around, hugging me tight.

“Happy New Year Bailey girl!”

“Happy New Year Kev-o!”

Leave a Reply

