Introducing…. SIDNIE’S BLOG! (an assignment from Blogging 101)

I have had this blog for a couple of months now. I started out completely clueless and with the best of intentions. I created my blog and vowed to write in it every day! That lasted less than a week. What happened? Distractions, life, excuses, the whole nine yards. I have written in my blog sporadically over the last month or two, but hadn’t really connected with the blogging experience. I logged in on New Years Day (Or was it the day after?) to write down a little snippet that had been skipping around in my brain, and I saw the Blogging 101 sign up! To me this just seemed like a perfect beginning to a new year! I would learn more about this medium, I would connect with other bloggers, I would have expectations to be met with the classwork, it all sounded like a win-win to me! So here I am writing my first blog assignment! The assignment was to introduce my blog and what I wanted to do with it. It also asked a few questions that I will answer along the way.

Who am I, and why am I here?

My name is Sidnie, I am a 25 year old from deep in the woods of South East Texas, and I am a writer. Not necessarily in my day jobs (I have three), but in my heart. I have loved reading and writing from the time I was a little girl! My great American dream and the top of my bucket list has always been to have a book I have written be published. I have always loved the saying, “To be a writer you do not have to have published a book, you simply have to write every day.” I don’t know who said it, but I love it! That is why I am here. To write everyday. Not necessarily to publish a new blog every day, but to sit down and put ideas on keyboard for a little while every day. This to me is public practicing of my art. I am here to hone my skills, to give the people who read this blog a sense of who I am and what my writing style is about, and to show myself what I can do with my writing. I hadn’t done much writing for a long while before I created this blog, and I wanted a place to start again.

Why am I blogging publicly instead of keeping a personal journal?

There are a couple of answers to this question.

To me a journal is a personal private form of writing that focuses on your life. What is happening with you mentally, spiritually, and what is going in your day to day life. For me that poses a challenge because I am a very private and very boring individual. I will let my emotions out in the stories I tell, but they wont be about my personal life. There isn’t much to tell anyway. Journaling and Blogging are two very different mediums in my mind.

Another reason I am blogging publicly is for the accountability and the community. I want people to hear me say, I am going to write and be able to say, “well, where is this blog I’ve been hearing so much about?” I also want to be able to connect with other writers and readers, I want others opinions of my work, I want to be critiqued. I don’t see how I can grow as an artist without being able to see what I am doing to hinder my abilities.

What topics do you think you will write about?

I am a story teller. I like to write short fiction pieces based on things that I see in real life, stories that pop into my head, or emotions I am feeling at the time. I love prompts and taking them and molding them into my own work. I do occasionally break from my preferred genre and write a blog about what’s going on in my life, but I try to keep them at a minimum. I would rather this be a place for me to hone my skills at story telling than a place to vent.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

If this class and this next year is a successful blogging adventure I am hoping for a blog full of short stories that are well thought out, insightful looks into my writing and what my future books might look and sound like. I am hoping for a well read and critiqued blog with an audience that will appreciate my work, and be happy to express their opinions.

That’s it in a nutshell. A very large nutshell. Perhaps a walnut. Forgive me, I try to be funny. I am looking forward to what we will learn and teach each other with this class! Until next time, have a great day!

4 thoughts on “Introducing…. SIDNIE’S BLOG! (an assignment from Blogging 101)

  1. Haha, that might well be a walnut indeed 😉 For me, personally, writing a blog post every day would be an exhausting task, and certainly if I had 3 day jobs! I lack the inspiration to do so, and in contrast with your writing, mine aren’t (or won’t be) stories, but rather small investigations or thoughts on certain subjects. So, uh… All of a sudden I don’t see the usefulness of my comment, I guess I just wanted to say this. I wish you the best of luck with your way of expressing your creativity and I hope you will continue to enjoy writing. Wouldn’t it be nice if one or more of your blogs conveyed a message that touches people, maybe even make a slight change in their way of thinking and seeing the world…

    Like

    • That is the dream! I have always wanted to inspire others with my writing, and touch peoples lives through the written word! Knowing that something I wrote changed someone for the better would be epic. As for writing everyday, that is a personal goal. I almost certainly wont be posting everyday. But hopefully this class will help me get in the habit of sitting down and taking at least 30 minutes a day to work on my writing. That is what I am looking forward to most with this class, and meeting everyone! We all have different writing styles and different ways of expressing our creativity. Reading your views and opinions on the subjects you choose is going to be awesome! You could have a completely different way of looking at the world than I do, and we as a group are going to be able to teach each other so much through this format!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Hi Sidnie..i loved this piece u hv written fr ur intro..but what i loved more was that i share so many of ur views like one on keeping ur journal and story writing a bit separate(m too like u on privacy issue). Moreover I too love reading n writing since i was a child.. there r many more..but the conclusion is: we r soul sisters residing on different part of the world! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I agree with Hargun and you about writing publically and journaling privately. I assure myself that no one will bother reading my journals when I die, because they’ll be bored stiff after a page! My journaling is for me, to sort out emotional problems, think through writing ideas, and simply record silly pointless, random thoughts.

    I am also beginning Blogging 101 and creating my new blog in the hope that I will commit to writing every day as well. I know I won’t publish every day, but I think blogging provides a great space to hone our writing skills.

    I love your humour, would love to write funny myself. One of these days, I’m going to see if there’s a course that will teach me how to do that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

